Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

General debates and discussion about the Guild of Writers and Age creation

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Christian Walther » Sun May 13, 2018 12:58 am

Hey, that’s interesting, thanks for the pointer. I’m going to have to take a look at this. It looks like a clone of Oculus Medium at first glance, does it do anything better than Medium, other than multiplayer mode and running on more platforms?
Christian Walther
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:10 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Afalstein » Sun May 13, 2018 7:57 am

Haven't played Oculus Medium (I have a Vive) so couldn't say, but promo material suggests not--there's a post the creator made saying SculptrVR is like Oculus Medium, but for your phone and with multiplayer. Some of the forum discussion on it suggests it's better at handling data and doing fine detail also, but the person saying that admits they're not super technical.
User avatar
Afalstein
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:08 pm
Location: Kadish Tolesa

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Sirius » Wed May 16, 2018 4:23 pm

Updaaaaaaate ! Been a while, hasn't it ? ;)

So, I didn't get a chance to say it earlier, but SteamVR's home feature is compatible only with Valve's own engine (Source), contrarily to the engine I'm using (Unity). So no Uru Age as default VR environment. For now. Maybe one day you'll be able to use your own application as VR home - sounds rather likely to me.

But hey, either way this doesn't mean you can't play Uru in VR. Speaking of which....

Show Spoiler


Just needed to load the old models and textures. Piece of cake.

...No it wasn't. Really not. That was rather hard, actually. Unity's rendering is completely different from Plasma, and getting a new engine to behave like an old one is HARD, since they do a lot of things differently. Which is also the reason I'm only showing you the Relto for now.
But hey, now it matches almost exactly the Plasma version. Even dynamic objects are lit correctly !

And that's not all. Under the hood, it has toggleable per-pixel lighting, works in both Forward and Deferred, and complex materials don't need extra passes to be rendered. As for compatibility, Unity can work on any device and OS, as long as HSPlasma can be compiled to it.

What else... What you can't see in those pictures is that most animations are working correctly, and sounds are imported. However they both need more improvement before being as good as they were in Plasma. And next will be coding all the logic so you can click on stuff. More on this later. It's a big project, so it will take another while.

(Oh, and I'm working on the KI, too. Will be pretty useful as an in-game debug console...)
Show Spoiler
User avatar
Sirius
 
Posts: 990
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:46 am
Location: France

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Afalstein » Wed May 16, 2018 5:34 pm

Dude. You're amazing.
User avatar
Afalstein
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 9:08 pm
Location: Kadish Tolesa

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Chacal » Wed May 16, 2018 10:02 pm

Awesome.
I can't even begin to think about how you do that.
Chacal


"The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is an attribute of the strong."
-- Mahatma Gandhi
User avatar
Chacal
 
Posts: 2408
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Idea: Play Plasma from another engine

Postby Deledrius » Thu May 17, 2018 5:27 am

Impressive! :shock:
User avatar
Deledrius
Gehn Shard Admin
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:21 pm

Previous

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron