Object properties script?

General debates and discussion about the Guild of Writers and Age creation

Postby Branan » Fri Aug 25, 2006 12:50 pm

I know this should probably be in the ALCUGS forum, but I'm not signed up over there, and the single largest Age-in-progress is here, after all.

I don't see why a script can't be made to help make workflow a little bit easier. Rather than having to know all the numbers for different properties, why not have a script that allows easier setting of those properties, with text descriptions and such. That's especially important with the colision types and such, where one can spend a goodly amount of time stressing over a typo (stupid ball in my stupid testage...)

Anywho, I'd be willing to work on the layout of the logic behind this, but I'm not very good at scripting, and it should probably be integrated into the PRP package anyway.

While I'm thinking about it, why not add a basic front-end for all the scripts? If we add everything through that script, instead of through Blender, we don't have to fix the quad2 setting on lights, or seperately add colision data, or all the other little things that make age work extremely tedious.

I can start the GUI layout and the menu tree (completely non-functional, of course) to give an idea of how it should all work.
Your friendly neighborhood shard admin
Branan
Gehn Shard Admin

Postby ShadowDude » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:04 pm

Actually, there already is a script like the one you're describing for setting object properties. Granted, it should probably be updated to include the functions of the new PRP Plugin.

LINKY
ShadowDude

Postby Branan » Fri Aug 25, 2006 1:17 pm