Missing textures/graphics

Announcements and discussion regarding the Deep Island Alcugs Shard.

Moderator: diafero

Missing textures/graphics

Postby philipgr » Tue May 02, 2017 10:35 am

Good evening

Wednesday last week after installing a security update for Windows 8.1 from Microsoft on my laptop Windows would not boot and after trying various options I had no choice but to do a reset and re-install all my programs. I re-installed Deep Island and I now have the same issue that I have had with MOULa since I purchased my laptop. I have missing textures/graphics. The game area looks like it is covered in snow. The issue is worst in all the Cyan ages and some fan ages like Abysos. In Alabaster and Laki'nay it is not too bad. The issue is not as apparent in these ages. Before the crash everything was fine.

I tried switching the graphics setting from HAL to Ref. With Ref I get a blank black screen. My laptop seems to have two graphics cards installed: one from Intel and an AMD Radeon. DI only picks up the Intel card. I downloaded the Intel Driver update utility. It runs but the download button is grayed out. I also had a battle to find drivers for the AMD Radeon card. They are not very common. I managed to find a driver from 2014. I installed it previously when I first got my laptop at the suggestion of folks on the MOULa forum. Sadly it did not work. None of the other suggestions worked. I have not bothered to install the driver this time round.

Does anyone have any advice for me on how I can resolve this. I play mainly on my Windows 7 desktop where I do not have any issues.

Regards
Philip
Attachments
System Info 30Apr17 Laptop.zip
System information file
(71.06 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
DxDiag_30Apr17_Laptop.txt
DirectX Diagnostic file
(49.78 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
KIimage1125.jpg
Missing textures in Relto
KIimage1125.jpg (144.48 KiB) Viewed 521 times
MOULa KI#24852041
TOC KI#00320847
Gehn KI#00252463
DI KI#00274303
UAM KI#00149988
User avatar
philipgr
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:11 am
Location: Boksburg, South Africa

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby JanB » Wed May 03, 2017 1:33 am

As it did work before it should be able to work again I presume.
Could it be that you have to assign to the other video card.
Like in this example here:http://en.community.dell.com/support-forums/laptop/f/3518/t/19474269
Is disabling the intel Video adaptor in the BIOS possible?
Image
JanB
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby philipgr » Wed May 03, 2017 2:20 am

Hi JanB

I checked my laptop's BIOS. There is no graphic setting anywhere in it.

Regards
Philip
MOULa KI#24852041
TOC KI#00320847
Gehn KI#00252463
DI KI#00274303
UAM KI#00149988
User avatar
philipgr
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:11 am
Location: Boksburg, South Africa

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby philipgr » Wed May 03, 2017 10:20 am

Good evening JanB

I went to the link you provided and followed the advice therein. Sadly it has made no difference. I tghen did a search on the internet for an updated version of the AMD Control Centre program only to find that AMD has discontinued it and replaced it with
'Crimson ReLive'. I have installed it and I found that it kept the high definition settings from the changes I made in the Control centre program. Sadly this has also not resolved my issue.

Thank you for trying to help me. I really appreciate it.

Regards
Philip
MOULa KI#24852041
TOC KI#00320847
Gehn KI#00252463
DI KI#00274303
UAM KI#00149988
User avatar
philipgr
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:11 am
Location: Boksburg, South Africa

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby JanB » Wed May 03, 2017 11:54 pm

Well I recently replaced my AMD video twin head card by a more recent and more powerful one, but in advance I had to use also the latest available non Crimson Catalyst driver + that AMD provided on Preview versions of W10. On every update I had to install that packake again once or twice a week on every insider update, as the update process did not support it any more.
I could not determine the type of AMD card you are using but maybe it is still available here?
http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/graph ... ion/legacy

Did you try a compete de-installation, cleanup and reinstallation of the AMD driver and software you found already. As on many forum threads I found that option as a recommendation.
Image
JanB
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby philipgr » Thu May 04, 2017 12:42 am

Hi JanB

I did not do a reinstall of the AMD drivers. A security update from Microsoft last week caused Windows not to boot. Recover did not work. Nor did using a previous restore point. So the only option I had was to do a reset which removed all my installed programs. I assume that the reset restored the original drivers. My laptop has a Radeon R7 M265 graphics card. My laptop has Windows 8.1 as the OS.

Regards
Philip
:)
MOULa KI#24852041
TOC KI#00320847
Gehn KI#00252463
DI KI#00274303
UAM KI#00149988
User avatar
philipgr
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:11 am
Location: Boksburg, South Africa

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby JanB » Thu May 04, 2017 5:02 am

http://www.driverscape.com/download/amd ... 265-series

On the above link I noticed a few driver versions like 8.5 driver installer and various 15.200.1062.0000 drivers , for the R7 -M265 maybe worth a try?

On my old video card I used Amd-catalyst-15.7.1 version for W10 64 bit.
You may have tried that version for W 8-1 64 bit? It support also R7 M200 series

http://www.techspot.com/downloads/drive ... -catalyst/
Image
JanB
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Missing textures/graphics

Postby dendwaler » Thu May 04, 2017 6:33 am

There seems to be problems with the Acer e1-572g using the R7 M265.

This has partly to do with the ULPS ( Ultra low power state).
It is advised to turn that off in the registry.
Here is how to:

https://community.amd.com/thread/176003

Also , after updates the card can remain disabled completely.
So, how can you turn it on again.

I found a thread of how to do it in OS10.
I know you have OS 8.1
But i assume the solution is the same and independent of the operating system.
Here is the thread:

https://community.amd.com/thread/207027

The correct answer is from xpz24 on 6-nov-2016.

I wish you good luck.!
Those wonderfull Worlds are called " Ages" , because that is what it takes to build one.

Image

Watch my latest Video Or even better..... watch the Cathedral's Complete Walkthrough made by Suleika!
User avatar
dendwaler
 
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 10:49 am
Location: Nederland


Return to Deep Island

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron