1.3.0 and shadows?

Announcements and discussion regarding any projects related to Cyan Worlds' Plasma Engine including (but not limited to) CyanWorlds.com Engine, Drizzle, OfflineKI, PyPRP, and libHSPlasma.

1.3.0 and shadows?

Postby D'Lanor » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:55 pm

I had shadows working in 1.2.1 by installing a newer version of alc_LightClasses.py over it. I think many of us got the shadow preview that way.

Now with 1.3.0 however I lost my avatar shadow again. Does anyone else have this problem?
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: 1.3.0 and shadows?

Postby boblishman » Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:13 am

I also had a similar problem last week... I moved to a new machine, downloaded the plugin (v1.2.1) ... no avatar shadows ... so I downloaded the alc_lightclasses.py from the snv ... still no shadwows... the only way I could get then back was to copy the file from my old machine...
when it comes to Age creation ... "DOH" seems to be my middle name...
User avatar
boblishman
 
Posts: 837
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: 1.3.0 and shadows?

Postby D'Lanor » Mon Mar 03, 2008 3:25 pm

Well, for me it appears to be a different problem. There was some new code added since shadows were first implemented.

Code: Select all
        if lamp.mode & (Lamp.Modes["Sphere"]):
            self.fAttenDist = lamp.dist
        else:
            self.fAttenDist = lamp.dist * 10
        print "  Attensity distance %f" % self.fAttenDist

        self.fPower = lamp.energy
        print "  Power: %f" % self.fPower


And I think that kills my shadows because the shadow casting sunlight is at a distance of 300 and has an energy of 0.4.
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: 1.3.0 and shadows?

Postby Nadnerb » Mon Mar 03, 2008 4:04 pm

Ahh, ok, so you were running into a more severe version of the problem I was having with my shadows, where they would be clipped past a certain distance from the avatar. It comes from having a much too ridiculously large atten dist on the shadowMaster. (which seems to start behaving irrationally due to low precision around 200) I've removed the insane multiplier from the svn version. You should be able to clean things up by just removing that block and putting "self.fAttenDist = lamp.dist" back.
Live KI: 34914 MOULa KI: 23247 Gehn KI: 11588 Available Ages: TunnelDemo3, BoxAge, Odema
Nadnerb
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: US (Eastern Time)

Re: 1.3.0 and shadows?

Postby Chacal » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:18 pm

Attensity?

:shock:
Chacal


"The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is an attribute of the strong."
-- Mahatma Gandhi
User avatar
Chacal
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada


Return to Plasma Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron