Waveset defaults

Announcements and discussion regarding any projects related to Cyan Worlds' Plasma Engine including (but not limited to) CyanWorlds.com Engine, Drizzle, OfflineKI, PyPRP, and libHSPlasma.

Waveset defaults

Postby diafero » Mon Aug 31, 2009 12:20 pm

There are still a lot of ages out there with faulty wavesets that don't display correctly when I use wine, and people with old graphics cards have the same issue. The latest example is Crater Concept. As far as I know (but I'm not an expert on this area) the age writer has to set some "geostate" options for that to be fixed. Is there any plan to make these geostate options the default in PyPRP so that even if the age writer does not notice the problem because he is on a better machine, the issue is fixed? Maybe this has already happened, which would be even better :D
I prefer e-mails to "diafero arcor de" (after adding the at and the dot) over PMs.

"Many people's horizon is a circle with a radius of zero. They call it their point of view."

Deep Island Shard | Offline KI
diafero
Deep Island Admin

Re: Waveset defaults

Postby D'Lanor » Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:59 pm

The defaults are still 0. The problem is finding good defaults since the geostate settings are affected by the texstate settings.

If for example we would use the geostate settings which Cyan uses for both the lake and the water garden in the neighborhood as defaults, this would make a small puddle look as if there was a herd of elephants splashing around in it. See this video to see what I mean. That video shows the effect of geostate very well because it is so exaggerated.

The geostate defaults probably have to be calculated from the texstate settings.

Edit: I seem to be getting decent results with the following calculation but this definitely needs more testing.

Code: Select all
        texstate = self.fState.fTexState
        texstate.fMaxLength = FindInDict(objscript,'visual.waveset.texstate.maxlen',6.25)