Dirtsand on a VPS

Announcements and discussion regarding any projects related to Cyan Worlds' Plasma Engine including (but not limited to) CyanWorlds.com Engine, Drizzle, OfflineKI, PyPRP, and libHSPlasma.

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:16 pm

Surta wrote:Now I'm in the process of running the manifest script again. Which reminds me, is there a way to just run the script on the files that have changed and upload those, or do I have to include the entire folder each time?


The manifest.py script has a lot of command line arguments that you can use to help you generate only parts of the dataserver. If you run `python manifest.py --help` it should display them for you.
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1900
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Surta » Sat Apr 13, 2019 4:39 pm

Oh nice, I added `--no-ages` to the batch file, that should cut down the amount of converting and uploading ;)

Still trying to figure out why the game would crash on the two other machines. I think you may have a point that the crashing and missing sound are related... there are lots of topics on Google that relate the two to OpenAL!
Surta
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Surta » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:35 pm

Well, I'm running out of solutions to try... I even tried all kinds of versions of openal32.dll - the one from Gehn, the one from Destiny, the Uru Live one and even some versions that I found online that other people posted as a solution to THEIR problem in various game forums. I'm truly stumped - and what is worse, PC #2 and #3 are back to crashing - even in offline mode! Both crash at the exact same spot (when it shows "Loading age... Personal. StartupHelpGUI"). I honestly have no idea what to try next!

Then hopefully an easier question :D I'm still going through the ages and found most of the markers (green & red). But I think after I registered the green markers it should have enabled the other room in Great Zero (the big chamber), shouldn't that new link be in Nexus? Do I have to enable it the way I had to enable to book in Hood, or am I missing something? As I said I'm kinda rusty!
Surta
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:26 pm

If I remember correctly, we changed the way that the Great Zero is handled under the hood on Gehn such that the entire shard has one public Great Zero. You will probably need to modify your static_ages.ini file to include the Great Zero as we did, then restart DirtSand.
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1900
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Surta » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:27 pm

Thanks!! I edited the file to include the new lines, then restarted Dirtsand. You mean just type `quit` and then `bin/dirtsand dirtsand.ini`, right? Or do I need to rebuild the server? Because I'm not seeing the link yet in Nexus... or the hood - yet.

Edit: ok, I didn't look past the end of my nose at first. I edited the file in /opt/dirtsand, but there is ANOTHER one in /opt/dirtsand/dirtsand. Edited that one, restarted Dirtsand and now Nexus shows two additional places (Fehnir and Vothol), but still no GZ I'm afraid...
Surta
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Deledrius » Mon Apr 15, 2019 7:20 pm

Surta wrote:Edit: ok, I didn't look past the end of my nose at first. I edited the file in /opt/dirtsand, but there is ANOTHER one in /opt/dirtsand/dirtsand. Edited that one, restarted Dirtsand and now Nexus shows two additional places (Fehnir and Vothol), but still no GZ I'm afraid...

Odd, why do you have an /opt/dirtsand/dirtsand/ ? That sounds like something got nested incorrectly. There shouldn't be another dirtsand directory under /opt/dirtsand by the default installation. This could mean other files are in the wrong place, too...
User avatar
Deledrius
Gehn Shard Admin
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:21 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Surta » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:24 am

Hah, I knew you'd be asking for my notes sooner or later :lol: But the honest truth is, I don't know why another dirtsand folder is nested in /opt/dirtsand. This is what both folders look like:

Code: Select all
/opt/dirtsand$
ages      bin   dirtsand  static_ages.ini     string_theory
authdata  data  SDL       static_ages_or.ini


Code: Select all
/opt/dirtsand/dirtsand$
AuthServ        CryptKeys.txt        FileServ    settings.cpp
bin             db                   GameServ    settings.h
build           dirtsand.ini         GateKeeper  static_ages.ini
cmake           dirtsand.sample.ini  NetIO       streams.cpp
CMakeLists.txt  dsmain.cpp           PlasMOUL    streams.h
config.h        errors.h             README.md   TidyRules.cmake
COPYING         ExeChanges.txt       SDL         Types


Here are my notes on how I got there:

Code: Select all
cd /opt
sudo mkdir -p dirtsand
sudo chown -R dirtsand /opt/dirtsand

cd /opt/dirtsand
git clone https://github.com/zrax/string_theory.git
git clone https://github.com/H-uru/dirtsand.git
mkdir -p ages data authdata SDL string_theory/build dirtsand/build

cd /opt/dirtsand/string_theory/build
cmake ..
sudo make install

cd /opt/dirtsand/dirtsand/build
cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/opt/dirtsand ..
sudo make install


Then I'd go into the database creation, ini file etc process.

I would imagine I went wrong somewhere above, but... I'm not versed enough in Linux to change it to what it should be ;) I'm kinda hoping against all hope that once this is sorted, all my troubles will miraculously disappear. I depend on you :D
Surta
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Surta » Mon Apr 22, 2019 12:09 pm

Ok, one week later and unfortunately I don't have anything new to add - I haven't really changed anything in the above process for the simple reason that I don't know how to :lol:

That also means the project has come to a bit of a standstill, unfortunately - it's not much use if I can't get the game to work on any other computer than just the one :cry:

Still, I don't want to give up, so if you have any idea what it could be, any at all, I'm all ears!
Surta
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:13 pm

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby J'Kla » Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:49 pm

Thanks for the nod Surta good to hear the notes were of use.

I am going to pick through this and see if I can do the same for making a data server. ;)
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 984
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

Postby Deledrius » Tue Apr 23, 2019 3:36 pm

Sorry, I've been busy elsewhere lately.

I see here what caused your nested installation. You cloned the source inside of your installation folder. That shouldn't cause any direct problems, but it will probably result in some confusion, especially when it comes to the duplicate names and locations.
User avatar
Deledrius
Gehn Shard Admin
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:21 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Plasma Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest