Page 9 of 15

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:33 am
by Surta
Thanks! Whoo hoo, well, at least partially!

This is what I did: I found a devlibs folder in "build" (under Plasma). It already contained a folder devlibs... which contained a folder debug and libs. The debug folder already contained a folder libs as well. Ok that probably came across as gibberish, so I'll try to created a tree:

The folder ..\Plasma\build\. contains

.\devlibs\debug\lib
and
.\devlibs\lib

So I copied the content .\devlibs\lib to .\devlibs\debug\lib (overwriting a few existing files) and ran the batch again. Now I'm getting:

Show Spoiler


At least it finished the process now! After that I opened the Plasma.sln file in Visual Studio 17, changed debug to release and selected "Build Solution". That failed and this time I managed to grab the entire log - oh, I can't paste it in one message, so be prepared for LOOONG message next :D

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:35 am
by Surta
Entire Visual Studio log, part 1:

Show Spoiler

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2020 11:35 am
by Surta
Part 2:

Show Spoiler

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 5:29 pm
by Tsar Hoikas
Can you share the contents of the CMakeCache.txt file from the build folder?

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 6:01 pm
by Surta
Of course :) Here it is, in zip format... finally got smart and not post it all in a spoiler haha.

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2020 7:58 pm
by Tsar Hoikas
Hmm... It looks like CMake is not finding the CURL libraries at all for you. I just ran prepare_env.bat in a clean checkout of the repository and was able to build the client just fine. What version of CMake are you using?

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Sat May 09, 2020 10:04 am
by Surta
I'm using Cmake v3.17.1 on Windows 10.

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2020 6:01 pm
by Tsar Hoikas
It looks like there has been some kind of regression or change in behavior in CMake 3.17 that's causing all these problems. Try rolling back to CMake 3.16--I was able to build successfully using that. You may need to delete the build folder and rerun prepare_env.bat.

EDIT: It seems you can fix this issue by issuing this command on CMake 3.17 from the build directory: cmake -DCURL_NO_CURL_CMAKE=1 ../

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 11:40 am
by Surta
Progress... I think :D Here's the status so far:

- I deleted the Plasma\build folder (in fact just to be sure I re-cloned Plasma from scratch)
- Uninstalled Cmake and installed v3.16.6 instead.
- Then I ran the prepare_env.bat file.
- After that, I copied the content of build\devlibs\lib to build\devlibs\debug\lib.
- Opened the Plasma.sln file in Visual Studio, selected release and built the solution.

This time, I got no errors, "only" 70 warnings... and in the end it told me it skipped building. But I do think that is at least some progress, right? :lol:
I have attached the entire Visual Studio log and the CMakeCache file.

Re: Dirtsand on a VPS

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2020 6:58 pm
by Tsar Hoikas
Looks like you now have a client built at C:\Users\user\Documents\GitHub\Plasma\build\bin\Release\plClient.exe ;)