Preparations for Oculus Rift (Virtual Reality) support

Announcements and discussion regarding the Gehn CWE Shard.

Moderator: Gehn Shard

Preparations for Oculus Rift (Virtual Reality) support

Postby Zerofool » Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:45 pm

Hi,
First, I'd like to apologize if this is not the right forum section for my post.

I'm a long-time stereo-3D gamer, and I can honestly say that URU and Myst V are some of the best 3D experiences I've had (they were some of my favorite games since before I started playing everything in 3D - around the end of 2008). That's why these would be some of the first worlds I'd like to explore in Virtual Reality with the Oculus Rift HMD/headset/visor. (If you're curious, other world's I'd like to explore in VR are these created by Valve, as well as Dear Esther, Mirror's Edge, Fallout 3, Skyrim, S.T.A.L.K.E.R. ... and many others.)
It's great that MOULa is still being maintained, by talented fans.

I saw this thread about the Rift, but not many specifics has been discussed there.
So I'd like to propose the implementation of few small changes/additions to the Gehn shard client, to make it Oculus Rift-friendly.

1. Support for 4:5 aspect-ratio resolutions/modes, starting from 640x800, and including 960x1200 and 1280x1600. /The dev kit features 1280x800 display, 640x800 per eye/

2. In these 4:5 modes, set horizontal FOV (hFOV) to 90 degrees. Or include a FOV slider in the options menu. /the HMD's optics offer 90 deg hFOV/

3. In first-person view, currently there's a limitation to head pitch - you can't look straight up or straight down, so please, remove that limitation and make it possible to pitch the view the whole 180 degrees.