Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Announcements and discussion regarding the Gehn CWE Shard.

Moderator: Gehn Shard

Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Ehren » Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:25 pm

This is a glitch that exists on every MOULa server, but it just occurred to me that someone might actually care to fix it in a future version here. In Teledahn if you pull the lever to open/close the dam with the power cut off to it (either by having the main power off or the lever for the spinning shaft disengaged), the gate will appear to not move, but relinking will show its state actually did toggle despite the lack of power.

In other words, having the power off merely prevents the gate from animating, and relinking or starting up the power and pulling the lever again afterwards shows that the state did in fact change. For the sake of logical consistency I think it would be worth a small fix, I can't imagine it would be too hard to do.
User avatar
Ehren
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: Planet X

Re: Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Paradox » Tue Jan 26, 2021 9:12 pm

Easy fix indeed! Thanks for reporting this, I've opened a PR to fix the Python script: https://github.com/H-uru/Plasma/pull/793
"And one day I woke to find the future held no place for me. I was unwanted in a world, that with my hands I'd helped to build. Where once was honesty and pride, I now stand broken and alone."
Paradox
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Fri Jan 29, 2021 12:40 am

Thanks again for the bug report - we've merged the fix for this issue. Please continue to report any long-standing issues you can think of.
Image
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Ehren » Tue Feb 02, 2021 7:06 pm

Tsar Hoikas wrote:Thanks again for the bug report - we've merged the fix for this issue. Please continue to report any long-standing issues you can think of.

As far as long-standing issues go I've got one that's existed long before MOUL or even Until Uru was conceived. Funny enough it relates to Teledahn's power again, but this is a sound glitch, I need to show the location:
WorkroomShaft.jpg
WorkroomShaft.jpg (69.22 KiB) Viewed 272 times

This part of the shaft in the workroom emits a rotating noise even when it has no power to it. Its animation does correctly start and stop, it's just an issue of the active sound always playing. I remember being a kid, marking the workroom journey cloth, disabling the power, and being disappointed when I linked back to the cloth to find that workroom shaft still being noisy. Of course, online you'd just need to stay in the workroom while someone else turned off the power.

I actually, pretty much just now, figured out that the cause of the issue is in the Responder Modifier "cRespInternalShaftStop" in the tldnWorkroom prp. I figured out how to fix it offline by a small edit to the PRP file itself. The MOUL version looks like the same issue, unsurprisingly. The relevant part of the cRespInternalShaftStop:
Code: Select all
               <plSoundMsg>
                  <Sender>
                     <plKey Name="cRespInternalShaftStop" Type="plResponderModifier" Location="11;7" LocFlag="0x0000" ObjID="33" />
                  </Sender>
                  <Receivers>
                     <plKey Name="cSfxExposedShaft" Type="plAudioInterface" Location="11;7" LocFlag="0x0000" ObjID="15" />
                  </Receivers>
                  <MessageParams TimeStamp="0" BCastFlags="0x00000800" />
                  <Callbacks>
                  </Callbacks>
                  <SoundParams Begin="0" End="0" Loop="False" Playing="False" Speed="0" Time="0" Index="0" Repeats="0" NameStr="0" Volume="0" FadeType="0" />
                  <Command>
                     <hsBitVector>kPlay </hsBitVector>
                  </Command>
               </plSoundMsg>

The "<hsBitVector>kPlay </hsBitVector>" should be "<hsBitVector>kStop </hsBitVector>". This being said, I don't know how easy it would be to fix this issue without editing the prp itself, so make of this what you will. At least you know about it now.
User avatar
Ehren
 
Posts: 266
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: Planet X

Re: Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:48 pm

Nice find. Editing and distributing PRPs isn't hard now, so we'll have to jump on this one too.
Image
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Shroomie Gate Inconsistency

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Thu Feb 04, 2021 7:57 am

Image
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 2111
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia


Return to Gehn Shard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests