Music Software

The art, story, and musical aspects of age creation live here!

Music Software

Postby Topher » Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:54 pm

Hi, I'm Topher and I'd like to help out with the Guild of Writers primarily in concept/puzzle design and in music. However, I don't really have any experience creating music electronically and I could use some information about all the different software products, sample libraries, mixers, etc. that are available. I'm also considering building a new gaming PC for URU soon (my laptop just isn't quite cutting it) so if there's anything you think I should take into consideration for music composition, then that would be appreciated as well. I am much more of a musician than a computer-savvy, so I'm looking for an easy-to-use interface. I'm also a college student so I don't have a great deal of money lying around, but I would be willing to save up for something a little more high-end down the road. Thanks in advance for any advice you might have.
Topher

Re: Music Software

Postby Topher » Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:08 am

Bueller? ..... Bueller?
Topher

Postby Pryftan » Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:15 am

Haha, hello. Sorry. My setup isn't really all that impressive and I was hoping some of the people who made higher quality sounds would explain theirs. Most of mind end up with background noise and such.

I use an MBox for guitar/keyboard, Reason 3.0 to synthesize sounds, and Sony Acid to mix. Hands down, the best software for professional mixing is Pro Tools, which is also a lot of money and impossible to pirate (not that I haven't tried).

Reason is great if you're less about crazy computer stuff.. the interface is modelled after the actual boxes you would run through to get a similar sound, like a distortion box or a reverb box. And the mixer just looks like a big mix table, with bars and all. Good stuff.
.rilvoohee vehrehnehm vokan pam mahnshootahv rub voohee taygahnehm mahtahntahv
Pryftan

Postby BAD » Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:59 pm