Is this worth developing?

The art, story, and musical aspects of age creation live here!

Is this worth developing?

Postby JohnB » Fri Apr 03, 2009 8:40 pm

Please forgive me if this is in the wrong place, as I'm relatively new to MOUL and GoW. :D

While browsing through a book sale I came across a rather unusual journal. The relevent entries those here might find interesting.
I came across an odd reference today. "Starchasers". Not a name you would expect to find among a race of cave dwellers.

Again, "Starchasers". Who are they?

Well the months of reading those tedious personal journals finally paid off. A solid reference to who the Starchasers were. It seems that there was a group of D'Ni who saw the linking books as lacking something. While you could create entire Ages and worlds, and skies full of stars, you could not point to any one of those stars and say "I want to go to that one and have a look around."

They were explorers and Dreamers, or people who dreamed of exploring, I don't quite know which. I don't see what they thought they might achieve, the D'Ni didn't have the technology to travel to Earth's Moon, let alone the stars.

I get it now. They weren't trying to develop the technology to go to the stars. They created a place to signal from, in the hope that someone who could already do so would visit them. But what if the others were hostile? How would they stop the visitors from finding the D'Ni? But where were they? How did they get to their Age? How can I follow them?

Oh those clever people. Rather than try to develop the technology where other D'Ni might find them, they wrote their own Age for the purpose. Their group must have included Writers and Maintainers to pull that little stunt off. But where is it? How do I get there?