Tutorial and Information Requests

If you feel like you're up to the challenge of building your own Ages in Blender or 3ds Max, this is the place for you!

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:14 am

I am doing my first pass on the Python nodes tutorial.

I see there is this NOTE: under imagers.

NOTE: Imagers will not work properly in Destiny if you use the net.linktoage command. To see them, you'll need to use the Nexus after the initial link (under "Personal Ages").


I am using Destiny for testing so I have a default setup and normally use net.linktoage to get to my testing ages.

I went to the Nexus just to check.

There is no entry "Personal Ages" and no entries under "Personal Links" It could be you need to run something from the Plasma Console to make this a feature but its not available out of the box.

I am nowhere near testing imagers but I dare say I could need this feature at some time.

I don't know if this is something broken or just something that nobody has notices.

I figured it was worth a Heads up. ;)
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:07 am

As I mentioned earlier I have been getting an error message during export.

It looks like it is either at the very end of Baking Static Lighting.

Or the very start of Exporting Scene Objects.

Either way there is no detail on which object is actually generating the error.

Is there some way of getting this information.

[update]
By process of elimination I have nailed it down to my appended book object but it is weird in that it only goes away if I delete all of the objects appended at one stroke.

Remove them one at a time and I still have the errors even when there's nothing left.

I am probably going to end up re creating a new book object from scratch :(
[/update]

[update 2]
This is weird I have created new ultra simple books these start as a cube mesh re-sized textured with the book cover made active with a journal modifier and I still get the error.
[/update 2]

[error location found]

Removed the Journal Modifiers and the error went away. The odd thing is provided you build the .loc correctly file the Journals work wonderfully.

[/error location found]
Last edited by J'Kla on Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby Doobes » Wed Mar 07, 2018 6:29 am

J'Kla wrote:I assumed (My fault :oops: ) that I should be starting with Logic nodes when in reality the thing you need to grasp first is the Python nodes.


To be fair, in many cases for clickables, Python is not needed. Scripts like xSimpleDoor are used to simplify things and also to have a few more options as far as the doors opening, closing, when and how, controlling SDL states, etc.

Again, this all leads back to what exactly you want to happen with the door and how much input you want the user to have. Depending on how you want the door to function, it may merely be a case of wiring two responders...one to open the door and one to close it...then choosing which state is the default (opened or closed).
KI #s: MOULa - 6302, Minkata - 35287, Gehn - 14291,
TOC - 82340, DI - 44387
Image
User avatar
Doobes
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:08 pm
Location: Orlando, FL, USA

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Fri Mar 16, 2018 5:22 am

Is there a recognized method of adding small images into the body of the .loc file so that they appear in the text.

I am wanting to add cut down screen shots and small sketches.

Also in the City office on the desk there is a note how would I go about re creating this as an option?
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby Sirius » Fri Mar 16, 2018 1:02 pm

Update: at J'Kla's request, I added a small utility to my script !

"Copy modifiers from active", will copy any or all modifier from the active object to the selected objects !
(There is also a button called "Copy netprops from active", although I doubt this one will ever be useful)

korman_operators

Have fun !
User avatar
Sirius
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:46 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby Deledrius » Fri Mar 16, 2018 3:22 pm

Sirius wrote:"Copy modifiers from active", will copy any or all modifier from the active object to the selected objects !
(There is also a button called "Copy netprops from active", although I doubt this one will ever be useful)

korman_operators

Please feel free to open a PR to Korman with these convenience functions added to the toolbox. It would be nice to make them available. :)

J'Kla wrote:Is there a recognized method of adding small images into the body of the .loc file so that they appear in the text.

I am wanting to add cut down screen shots and small sketches.


As mentioned in the forum post I linked previously, you can use img tags. If you think of Plasma Markup Language as being very much like HTML, you'll be most of the way to understanding it.

J'Kla wrote:Also in the City office on the desk there is a note how would I go about re creating this as an option?

Clickable GUI items (as mentioned previously) are not yet available, due to needing the camera controls which didn't quite make it into 0.06. I'm not sure if they're planned for 0.07, but I hope so.
User avatar
Deledrius
Gehn Shard Admin
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 1:21 pm

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:29 pm

OK Deledrius I have had a look at that Plasma HTML section and I have tried adding an image to a journal using the

<img src="MinusNumbers.dds">

Naked as it appears above and with variations in size and with various blend=alpha settings and opacity values of 0.0 and 1.0 all with no effect.

Now I have everything set MinusNumbers.dds is a plane with an unwrapped image oddly Called MinusNumbers.png and I found the dds name and extension by looking in the prp file with Plasma shop.

I understand the function and method having used the similar <cover src="imageName.dds" to 28 Journals including this one it displays the cover beautifully but no sign of my screen shot captured image. :?

There is text in the same .loc section and it displays fine.
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby Sirius » Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:47 pm

Deledrius wrote:Please feel free to open a PR to Korman with these convenience functions added to the toolbox. It would be nice to make them available. :)

Mmmm, I'm not really fond of writing clean code and figuring out how to make pull requests. But I agree having two plugins defeats the purpose of Korman. I'll see what I can do when I have some time.
User avatar
Sirius
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 4:46 am
Location: France

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:48 pm

Deledrius wrote:xStandardDoor is probably the right script. Make a PFM node, load that script, and then just hook up the empty slots.

There are a lot of really handy pre-made scripts that do most of the work for you, you just plug in the clickables, the regions, and the animation responders for the door. I would suggest looking through the available scripts (especially the ones starting with x, since those are the global convenience scripts) and finding the ones that apply to what you want to do.


I found the scripts so this is now a straight request for a Tutorial on how to use them.

What is a PFM node?

I have built a simple age model with a link in point that works with Destiny.

I have a door object for which I have created an animation with a Closed start position then a Fully Open Position 30 seconds later and at 60 seconds it returns to the closed position.

The door has a small plane with a texture that is to act as a touch point to open the door this is a child object of the door so that it moves with the open door.

There is a region that encompasses this touch plane.

I have also added another empty sphere just in case its needed.

In my 3D view I have my door selected.

I change the 3D view window to the Node Editor window.

In the Node Editor Menu bar I select the button that shows what looks like two nodes with a connecting link.
If I hover over this it says

Node tree type to display and edit : Plasma
Python : SpaceNodeEditor.tree_type
bpy.data.screens[“Default”] … tree_type

This gives me a + New button and clicking this gives me a default option of NodeTree

With the NodeTree opened I can now add various nodes The Python Node option gives me a choice of

Boolean Attribute
Drop Down List Attribute
Numeric Attribute
Object Attribute
Python File
String Attribute
Texture Attribute

I am assuming I need to select Python File as I can then use the select button and navigate to the python scripts I downloaded and this includes the xStandardDoor.py

This adds a node with no connectors?

I can add an Animation Command Node this seems sensible

I can add a Clickable Region Node that would also make sense.

I can see a Responder node.

I can see a Link to Age node.

These are all eminently sensible I would like to know am I in the right place?

I can't see anything that could be interpreted as PFM node.
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

Re: Tutorial and Information Requests

Postby J'Kla » Tue Jun 05, 2018 4:02 am

Any chance of getting a tutorial that would demonstrate how to add a a clickable object something as simple as an image or a sphere that would then link you to some other age.

I am considering using my Nilodnam age this is the gallery of screen shots from fan ages to contain links to those ages.

At present I am only looking at using either my own ages or one of the normal ages Like Gahreesen.

The advantage of using my own ages is that I could then seed them with a corresponding link back to Nilodnam.

I can see I can add a soft volume and make a "Link to Age" node but experiments to make this activate in response to a click in an age is eluding me.
User avatar
J'Kla
 
Posts: 884
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 3:16 pm
Location: Geordieland UK

PreviousNext

Return to Building

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron