Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

If you feel like you're up to the challenge of building your own Ages in Blender or 3ds Max, this is the place for you!

Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby boblishman » Sat Aug 29, 2020 11:19 am

Been trying all day to get collisions to work in my subword to no avail.

The subword works but when I enter the subword region I immediately fall though the floor.
I know I am in the subworld because I have it set to rotating around an empty and I can see rest of the age rotating as I fall into the abyss ... :o

I have added extra planes, cubes, tried all three types of subworld modifier (Auto,Dynamic,Seperate) on the collider , moved the subworld empty, everything I can think of.

Yes, I am using the convex hull setting for the "main collider" in the subworld - as it is a cube! (This is the "ground" in the subworld).

Are collisions "broken" in subworlds or an I just missing something dead obvious??
when it comes to Age creation ... "DOH" seems to be my middle name...
User avatar
boblishman
 
Posts: 882
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby JulyForToday » Sat Aug 29, 2020 1:02 pm

FYI, I am having the same problem, and also made a post (in the Scripting section -- not particularly sure which section is more appropriate for this kind of problem).
User avatar
JulyForToday
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:34 am

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby SereneTiki » Thu Dec 24, 2020 10:14 pm

I make sure collision surfaces aren't scaled. Sometimes I need to perform "apply location" for them to end up positioned correctly.
The problems I encountered are: collisions don't work without animation and having animation forces collisions.
To correct the above issues I've had to mod korman\exporter\physics.py. I have only tested the mods in POTS. Perhaps more testing would be useful...

beginning at line 214 (in my copy):
# MOUL: only objects that have animation data are kPhysAnim
if mod.enabled and (ver != pvMoul or bo_xformed): #MOD
_set_phys_prop(plSimulationInterface.kPhysAnim, simIface, physical)
# PotS: objects inheriting parent animation only are not pinned <- is this correct?
# MOUL: animated objects in subworlds are not pinned
if ver != pvMoul or subworld is None: #MOD
_set_phys_prop(plSimulationInterface.kPinned, simIface, physical)
# MOUL: child objects are kPassive
SereneTiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby SereneTiki » Thu Dec 24, 2020 10:16 pm

Oops. The forum interface removes the code indentation. Oh, well. Let me know if I should try to show indentation.
SereneTiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby Maroonroon » Sun Dec 27, 2020 9:33 am

SereneTiki wrote:Oops. The forum interface removes the code indentation. Oh, well. Let me know if I should try to show indentation.

You need the "code" tag:

Code: Select all
# MOUL: only objects that have animation data are kPhysAnim
if mod.enabled and (ver != pvMoul or bo_xformed): #MOD
   _set_phys_prop(plSimulationInterface.kPhysAnim, simIface, physical)
# PotS: objects inheriting parent animation only are not pinned <- is this correct?
# MOUL: animated objects in subworlds are not pinned
if ver != pvMoul or subworld is None: #MOD
   _set_phys_prop(plSimulationInterface.kPinned, simIface, physical)
# MOUL: child objects are kPassive
User avatar
Maroonroon
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 5:03 pm

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby SereneTiki » Sun Dec 27, 2020 10:29 pm

Thank you!

Since we're here, another issue I have run into is that sometimes all of the items in a subworld need to be on the same Plasma page as the subworld empty.
SereneTiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby SereneTiki » Tue Feb 23, 2021 12:28 pm

Please note that Korman 0.11 has made the experimental fix moot.
SereneTiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 8:04 pm

Re: Korman 0.1 and Subworld collisions

Postby SereneTiki » Sun Feb 28, 2021 2:23 pm

Shorah, Explorers!

Here is the latest version. I don't know if it works on Deep Island, yet. The ground floor animation sensor didn't trigger in DI for my previous version. This version hasn't been uploaded, yet. I'm working through 0.11a issues as well.

Again, no special subworld patch is needed for Korman 0.11 or 0.11a.

https://app.box.com/s/q9d7o1odc2vmb1vg1sxebc3eykv6yvi6

TikiBear/SereneTiki
SereneTiki
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 8:04 pm


Return to Building

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests