Learning the art

If you feel like you're up to the challenge of building your own Ages in Blender or 3ds Max, this is the place for you!

Learning the art

Postby TheWanderer1990 » Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:05 pm

Hello everyone!

I have been interested in game design for a while now and have begun learning as a hobby so I recently started learning Blender, however the course I am taking teaches me in 2.8 and onwards.

I found out about Korman not that long ago and am VERY interested in creating my own ages for the URU community but am looking for one piece of advice for getting started.

Should I continue learning Blender using 2.8 or should I switch now to start learning 2.79.

I know the versions are very different so I am wondering if learning 2.8 will help me learning 2.79 and Korman in the long run or would it just be better to go back to learn 2.79.

thanks everyone :)
TheWanderer1990

Re: Learning the art

Postby Sirius » Sat Dec 19, 2020 6:00 am

I'd say go with Blender 2.8 first.

2.8 is easier to learn, and has a lot of tutorials. Focus mostly on how to create meshes and do UV unwrapping and basic texturing. Don't bother with things like particles, armatures or material setup with nodes - those won't work with Korman, and you can learn them later anyway. Creating meshes and mapping textures on top of them is what's important when creating an Age, even though it's only 15% of what Blender can do. And while the interface/shortcuts are different, the process of creating complex meshes from scratch will carry over to 2.79.