Climbing Regions/Ladders: Help for newbies

If you feel like you're up to the challenge of building your own Ages in Blender or 3ds Max, this is the place for you!

Climbing Regions/Ladders: Help for newbies

Postby boblishman » Sat Oct 06, 2007 5:49 am

Hi Guys,
Although I have been 3D modelling for a few years I am a complete newbie to Age creation (just 2 weeks) and have been using the excellent Alcugs tuturials http://alcugs.almlys.org/wiki/index.php/AgeCreationTutorialsList. All was going (reasonably) well until I decided to add a floor to my new 'EggDome' hut... and a ladder up to it... :evil:

I was using the Climbing tutorial (http://alcugs.almlys.org/wiki/index.php/AgeLadders) and decided to use the first "easy" method for my ladder and so used the Scripts->Add->PyPRP->Add generic region , Now change the prpregion property to "climbable" method (as it seemed the quickest way to make a working ladder).

I added the ladder and the region as explained... but, when I went to test my ladder things were not as I expected... :shock: . Whilst I was able to climb the ladder, when I got to the top and dismounted it... I "shot forwards" about 4 feet... then fell into my first-floor mesh (up to my knees by the thickness of the floor!

Anyway, after 3 sleepless days I have found out several things (that I cannot see explained anywhere on the Alcugs site -although please correct me if I'm wrong) that need to be done before the ladder/climbing region works correctly.

I now have a fully working perfectly animated ladder ... :) ... but I really wouldn't want any other newbies going through the hell I've been through to acheive this, so I thought I'd post here to help anyone who is having problems.

The Alcugs tutorial (IMHO) seems to imply that the Climbing Region has to align to the floor surfaces, and not that the floor surfaces have to align to the Climbing Region.

Once I realised this (DOH!) ... then I was on the right track... :)