animation quickscript test

Help bring our custom Ages to life! Share tips and tricks, as well as code samples with other developers.

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby D'Lanor » Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:05 pm

Glad that it works now. :) Thanks for testing.

andylegate wrote:Psssssst!.......you might want to mention that in the first post, that you still have to set the animation for the object..........hehehehe....


Well, we can't make it too easy, right? :D Besides, quickscripts are usually for the logic scripting part of Alcscript, since that is the longest and most difficult part.

But don't worry, it will be mentioned in the wiki once it goes up there.
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby andylegate » Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:17 pm

What it was, I was used to using the full script, and in it, you have the animation flags with the object. When I added your quickscripts,,,,,,,I deleted my original full script, along with the animation flags......DOH!!! hehehee
"I'm still trying to find the plKey for Crud!"
Image
Blender Age Creation Tutorials
3DS Max Age Creation Tutorials
User avatar
andylegate
 
Posts: 2348
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:47 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby GPNMilano » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:11 pm

Heh, Of course I have to be the one who says "Hey D'Lanor, what about..."

So, Hey, D'Lanor, what about this. What if I my door to be two doors. Like the doors to the Neighborhood link room. Where I want to click on my clickable (in this case the door button) and have them open up. How would I go about scripting it so both animations play with the same clickable?
You can't stop the truth. IC Blog
User avatar
GPNMilano
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:50 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby Christian Walther » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:14 pm

D'Lanor wrote:
Code: Select all
#Get forewards animation variables. Spelling consistent with full alcscript ;)

Would it make sense to accept the correct spelling as an alternative, so that the incorrect spelling can be phased out over time?

Spelling mistakes in APIs are a pain IMHO. (That said, I don't feel I have a lot of say in this matter, as I haven't used anything animation-related so far.)
Christian Walther
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:10 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby andylegate » Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:26 pm

@GPNMilano,

You parent the one door to the other. Then when you reference the parent door in the script so that it's animation will play, the other door's animation will also play. Like Nadnerb's example for his locking door that he gave in the tutorial. He has certain objects parented to one, so that when the one object moves the others do too.

You could also Join the two doors together, meaning they are seperate meshes, staying where you made them, but they become one Object.
"I'm still trying to find the plKey for Crud!"
Image
Blender Age Creation Tutorials
3DS Max Age Creation Tutorials
User avatar
andylegate
 
Posts: 2348
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:47 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby Nadnerb » Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:00 pm

No.

Parenting has nothing to do with triggering animations. If you parent an animated object to another object, all that will happen is that the child object will act like it is stuck to the parent object. In this case, GPNMilano wants the door halves to move in opposite directions. This requires separate animations. If you want to trigger both animations, you need a responder that activates all the animations. Lots of messages. ;)

Also, the spelling of "forewards" is inherited from the spelling of the flag enum in plasma, (kSetForewards) and is not an error in pyprp. (though it might make sense to add a secondary option spelled "forwards")
Live KI: 34914 MOULa KI: 23247 Gehn KI: 11588 Available Ages: TunnelDemo3, BoxAge, Odema
Nadnerb
 
Posts: 1057
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: US (Eastern Time)

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby D'Lanor » Wed Aug 06, 2008 2:59 pm

Technically the script could be adapted to accept a list of animations but it really should not be any longer than it already is in order to qualify as "quick".

IMO if you want more complicated you go complicated all the way and use a full Alcscript.
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby Zirrus » Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:30 am

My Button is just not clickable. I alredy made the Region very big

My question: Can i just delete the "option" lines or what do I do with them?

Here's my AlcScript:
Show Spoiler


I guess i made a very stupid mistake in the Script or forgot summin.
Never argue with an idiot. He will pull you down to his level and beat you with experience.

The German Age Builder Forum: http://www.huru.info/Forum/portal.php
User avatar
Zirrus
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:41 pm

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby D'Lanor » Fri Aug 08, 2008 5:02 am

You should not split the script for your Button into 2 entries.

Also make sure that your clickable and its region are set up as described here.

Edit: Yes, you can delete the comments (anything starting with #)
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: animation quickscript test

Postby Trylon » Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:08 am

D'Lanor wrote:You should not split the script for your Button into 2 entries.


Yup, compleately true....
IF you split it up, it only takes one of the scripts, rendering the other half just useless.
One day I ran through the cleft for the fiftieth time, and found that uru held no peace for me anymore.
User avatar
Trylon
 
Posts: 1446
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:08 pm
Location: Gone from Uru

PreviousNext

Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron