The Noob hits Python!

Help bring our custom Ages to life! Share tips and tricks, as well as code samples with other developers.

The Noob hits Python!

Postby J'Kla » Tue Dec 09, 2008 7:17 am

Ok the time has come for me to try and make a Journal and I have been thrashing about in the Wiki like the proverbial "Crash Test Dummy"

As an ultra basic start point I thought Use the Wiki page "Creating a Python File" hell one page how bad can it be. :)

I am doing fine up to the point where it says "Choose File -> Save, then browse to the Python/src" due to a misplaced click it had already saved as the default name god knows where and I had to go through "Save as" to find it.

Ok I proceed to the next point "Now you can add bits of Python code to the appropriate place in your new Python file" (This is a massive insight I'm a noob throw me a bone show me a dummy comment anything :?

Ok I figure this is a Python stub so there so it should be ok to dump it as is I should be able to go back later and add something once I know what I am looking at.

So I save again I haven't changed anything but what the hell It won't harm to save it.

What do you know next point is "Save the file again so far so good(ish)

"Add the Python file to your PAK file." Yep no problem located the PAK dialog in Plasma Shop tried add files button browsed to the saved file and selected it.

This is where I hit the wall the stub file has an error on line 8 it asks for "self.id <insert ID here>" WHAT ID? it won't save without compileing and it won't compile without a self id

I can get this to compile by entering a random 8 digit number in place of , <insert ID here>.

I have also been looking for something specific to writing journals this was my original story the Walker Project I did with D'Lanor. I found his three template files so I printed myself some hard copy and every time I am feeling insomniactic I pick them up and within 5 minutes my brain turns to soup and I fall asleep.