A question of.. Imagers.

Help bring our custom Ages to life! Share tips and tricks, as well as code samples with other developers.

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby kaelisebonrai » Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:42 am

hokay, done a few checks at Paradox' suggestion, no errors in Python.0.elf and, what's more interesting, is I've had a look in Vaultshop, and I see no evidence of the Images going to the vault. So, something is wrong here, and I have not the foggiest what, exactly.
User avatar
kaelisebonrai
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby D'Lanor » Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:14 am

Does the imager show up in the open KI?
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby kaelisebonrai » Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:30 am

Thanks for the response D'Lanor, myself and 'Dox worked through it today, there were some bugs in the plugin, hence why it wasn't working. =)

It all works now, though =)
User avatar
kaelisebonrai
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby D'Lanor » Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:18 am

Cool 8-)

btw, I can confirm that Blender's procedural noise texture refuses to export as a normal material. So it should be fine to abuse it for this purpose.
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby GPNMilano » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:00 pm

D'Lanor wrote:Cool 8-)

btw, I can confirm that Blender's procedural noise texture refuses to export as a normal material. So it should be fine to abuse it for this purpose.


Probably the reason why is this code in the mat classes:

Code: Select all
for mtex in mtex_list:
                if(mtex != None):
                    if (mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.BLEND or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.NONE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.IMAGE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.NOISE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.ENVMAP):


Previous to the DynamicTexMaps, NOISE was not included in that list, so the plugin never touched it. The plugin will only process a layer with texture type that is included in that list. Otherwise it just spits out a null layer.

The reason I specifically chose NOISE while Paradox chose MAGIC is that i needed a dynamic text map for an imager as well. Since the imager has two planes, one with an animated noise texture, and the other with the DynamicTextMap i naturally thought "hmm NOISE would work".
You can't stop the truth. IC Blog
User avatar
GPNMilano
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:50 am

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Paradox » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:35 pm

GPNMilano wrote:The reason I specifically chose NOISE while Paradox chose MAGIC...


I felt MAGIC best described what I was trying to do, and how it was supposed to work when I originally wrote the code :P
Paradox
 
Posts: 1290
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: Canada

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Jojon » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:03 pm

You lot DO dabble in the black arts, as far as some of us are concerned. ;)
Jojon
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:49 am

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Tweek » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:40 pm

Explains why all my goats went missing when Dox moved in next door.
Beneath - IC Blog.
Beneath: Ages of Tweek - FB Age Dev Page.
User avatar
Tweek
 
Posts: 692
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:37 am

Previous

Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron