A question of.. Imagers.

Help bring our custom Ages to life! Share tips and tricks, as well as code samples with other developers.

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Chacal » Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:57 pm

Tsar Hoikas wrote:That solution was not immediately obvious. I want my desktop to be a desktop out-of-the box...


Yeah, you Linux users are typically not as tech-savvy as Windows users.
Chacal


"The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is an attribute of the strong."
-- Mahatma Gandhi
User avatar
Chacal
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:59 pm

Lol.

I just have very little patience with things that I think *should* work. If I go in expecting to have to fight, then I don't give up immediately and delete the whole partition (like I did with Kubuntu). I suppose that's why I haven't given up on Blender, but that's a topic for another thread entirely.

Reminds me of the first time I installed Vista on my computer... I deleted it about 15 minutes after installing it.
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1838
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby diafero » Tue Oct 27, 2009 4:41 am

That solution was not immediately obvious. I want my desktop to be a desktop out-of-the box...
It was perfectly usable as a desktop for me, out-of-the-box, with the default configuration. Maybe you used version 4.0 which was really more a tech preview than a release? Because since 4.1, whenever I started it for a new user, it had a "Folder View" widget in the upper left quarter of my screen, behaving like and old-school desktop, leaving space around it for more widgets. I still use exactly this setup on my laptop.

Reminds me of the first time I installed Vista on my computer... I deleted it about 15 minutes after installing it.
I guess I deleted it before I even installed it, after seeing it on another PC :lol:

I agree that Kubuntu has a lot of flaws, but I'd really like to stick with a Debian-based KDE distro and couldn't yet find a good alternative, unfortunately.
I prefer e-mails to "diafero arcor de" (after adding the at and the dot) over PMs.

"Many people's horizon is a circle with a radius of zero. They call it their point of view."

Deep Island Shard | Offline KI
diafero
Deep Island Admin
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Germany

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby kaelisebonrai » Tue Oct 27, 2009 6:19 am

@diafero: why not just use Debian itself, with KDE installed? I tried Kubuntu, and it was /awful/ mind you, that was years ago, I loved debian with KDE, though.
User avatar
kaelisebonrai
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby diafero » Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:23 am

I don't like Debian's update cycle for a desktop system. I don't want to wait for the next Debian release to get an update from KDE 4.2 to KDE 4.3 (do they even make updates within the 4.2 cycle?). Kubuntu lets me wait up to 6 months, which I sometimes already dislike, but it's ok - but Debian takes too long. I know Debian unstable and testing are updated more frequently, but I doubt they should be used on a production system.
I tried Fedora once because they have much more frequent updates, but it went completely crazy on my system, didn't even properly boot. Kubuntu runs almost perfectly, no problems with 3d graphics or whatever. If they could just use the original KDE translations instead of breaking them through Launchpad :(
I prefer e-mails to "diafero arcor de" (after adding the at and the dot) over PMs.

"Many people's horizon is a circle with a radius of zero. They call it their point of view."

Deep Island Shard | Offline KI
diafero
Deep Island Admin
 
Posts: 2803
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 5:50 am
Location: Germany

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby Chacal » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:22 pm

I only ran Linux as a server, never a desktop. Command-line always worked fine!
Chacal


"The weak can never forgive. Forgiveness is an attribute of the strong."
-- Mahatma Gandhi
User avatar
Chacal
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:45 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby kaelisebonrai » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:28 pm

@diafero: Debian Testing is the standard install. Almost no one uses Debian Stable.

I used to run unstable (sid) as my main desktop, in about 3 or 4 years, only the rare issue (once or twice in that time, really). Debian Testing is far and away more stable than Kubuntu "Stable" is, anyways. Last I used Kubuntu, that is.
User avatar
kaelisebonrai
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby teedyo » Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:45 pm

Chacal wrote:I only ran Linux as a server, never a desktop. Command-line always worked fine!

Strangely enough, it still does. Slackware(wo/gui) on my servers since '96. Same with my desktops(w/gui) except for a short side track with (K)Ubuntu. Won't give them a try again until they lose the "We wanna be Winux". Sorry, but user-friendly does not mean obscure as much as possible. Fresh install of openSUSE/KDE4.1 on my old laptop,~23hrs. So far, it seems to work quite well. I do feel a little bit like a heathen using a Novell product tho'. :oops:

Guess I'm done with the thread hi-jack. :D
teedyo
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2007 5:47 pm

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby kaelisebonrai » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:54 am

@D'Lanor: I happen to have a version of PyPRP that allows dynamic text maps, what should I change in that alcscript? I'm hoping I only need to change param 2, everything else should be just about ready, at this stage. =) Just need to learn how to do sprites for the imager.
User avatar
kaelisebonrai
 
Posts: 849
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:27 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

Postby D'Lanor » Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:35 pm

Yes, only param 2. I don't know the exact notation. Probably something like this. If not I hope Dox will chime in.

Code: Select all
                  - type: dynamictext
                    ref: dyntextmap:<dynamic text map name>
"It is in self-limitation that a master first shows himself." - Goethe
User avatar
D'Lanor
 
Posts: 1980
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:24 am

PreviousNext

Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron