Page 4 of 4

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:42 am
by kaelisebonrai
hokay, done a few checks at Paradox' suggestion, no errors in Python.0.elf and, what's more interesting, is I've had a look in Vaultshop, and I see no evidence of the Images going to the vault. So, something is wrong here, and I have not the foggiest what, exactly.

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:14 am
by D'Lanor
Does the imager show up in the open KI?

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 8:30 am
by kaelisebonrai
Thanks for the response D'Lanor, myself and 'Dox worked through it today, there were some bugs in the plugin, hence why it wasn't working. =)

It all works now, though =)

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 10:18 am
by D'Lanor
Cool 8-)

btw, I can confirm that Blender's procedural noise texture refuses to export as a normal material. So it should be fine to abuse it for this purpose.

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:00 pm
by GPNMilano
D'Lanor wrote:Cool 8-)

btw, I can confirm that Blender's procedural noise texture refuses to export as a normal material. So it should be fine to abuse it for this purpose.


Probably the reason why is this code in the mat classes:

Code: Select all
for mtex in mtex_list:
                if(mtex != None):
                    if (mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.BLEND or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.NONE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.IMAGE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.NOISE or
                        mtex.tex.type == Blender.Texture.Types.ENVMAP):


Previous to the DynamicTexMaps, NOISE was not included in that list, so the plugin never touched it. The plugin will only process a layer with texture type that is included in that list. Otherwise it just spits out a null layer.

The reason I specifically chose NOISE while Paradox chose MAGIC is that i needed a dynamic text map for an imager as well. Since the imager has two planes, one with an animated noise texture, and the other with the DynamicTextMap i naturally thought "hmm NOISE would work".

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:35 pm
by Paradox
GPNMilano wrote:The reason I specifically chose NOISE while Paradox chose MAGIC...


I felt MAGIC best described what I was trying to do, and how it was supposed to work when I originally wrote the code :P

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:03 pm
by Jojon
You lot DO dabble in the black arts, as far as some of us are concerned. ;)

Re: A question of.. Imagers.

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:40 pm
by Tweek
Explains why all my goats went missing when Dox moved in next door.