Korman 0.01 Released!

News pertaining to the site and the forums, as well as guild discussions and events in the world of Uru.

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Tue Jul 14, 2015 10:05 am

That's strange. As for Mesh.001, I think this is a case where I forgot to update an error message. Originally, Korman exported the mesh attached to your object, but now it makes a temporary copy of it so that it can apply modifiers. Unfortunately, this means that the real name of the offending mesh is hidden from us. I'll have to fix that for 0.02
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1891
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Whilyam » Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:07 pm

Something that might help. If I try and re-export it, the error now says it's happening on Mesh.002, .003, and so forth for successive exports.

The tsho_rocks material belongs to 7 objects: the large rock that serves as the ramp to let players get out of the water, 5 boulders that have landed in the area, and "tsho_rubblepiles" which is the only object that could be really causing problems since it is an object containing all small rocks that litter the area with a total of 18k verts in the object.

Another issue I'm having is that all objects are rendering in blender with their textures on their outside. So I can't see interiors. Is this just how 2.74 works or do I need to change something? I can't find where to flip normals in this version.
User avatar
Whilyam
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Tue Jul 14, 2015 1:51 pm

You may need to split that big object into several using that same material. In MOUL, you can only have 32,768 vertices per material per object (65,535 in PotS). I neglected to mention in the previous post that Blender stores vertices somewhat differently than Uru does, so, in some cases, one vertex in Blender can become many in Uru. It's possible we're seeing some inflation of the vertex count that way. You might also try making a vertex color layer named "color" to see if Korman's vertex light baking is somehow screwing things up.

The number following "Mesh" increasing isn't surprising ;)
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1891
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby tachzusamm » Tue Jul 14, 2015 2:31 pm

Whilyam wrote:I can't find where to flip normals in this version.

It's located in the tool window you get when pressing T while the mouse pointer is over the 3D window.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9Q5c-4AeRA
User avatar
tachzusamm
 
Posts: 575
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 2:03 am
Location: Germany

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Whilyam » Tue Jul 14, 2015 3:17 pm

tachzusamm wrote:
Whilyam wrote:I can't find where to flip normals in this version.

It's located in the tool window you get when pressing T while the mouse pointer is over the 3D window.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9Q5c-4AeRA


Well, now I've found the buttons, but flipping the normals makes no difference. The cavern of Tosholek still looks like normals are pointing outwards.
User avatar
Whilyam
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Tweek » Wed Jul 15, 2015 1:49 am

Hasn't been rescaled has it so it becomes inverted?
Beneath - IC Blog.
Beneath: Ages of Tweek - FB Age Dev Page.
User avatar
Tweek
 
Posts: 684
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:37 am

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Whilyam » Wed Jul 15, 2015 6:15 pm

Tweek wrote:Hasn't been rescaled has it so it becomes inverted?


Nope! Also, I checked it out in a blank blend file and it still does this if I try and put a texture on the noob cube. Is this just how new blender renders shit? :(
User avatar
Whilyam
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:59 pm

Status update: all the features for 0.02 are complete, and we are now TESTing...
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1891
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Whilyam » Sat Jul 18, 2015 6:09 am

Solution found! Blender now apparently defaults to backface culling off. Press "n" and go to "shading" on the panel that pops out. Then click "Backface Culling"
User avatar
Whilyam
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:55 pm

Re: Korman 0.01 Released!

Postby Whilyam » Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:04 am

Hoikas, if you need someone to test .02, send me a copy. I feel like I'm close to getting Tosholek to export and .02 sounds like it's going to have some features that might get it to work.
User avatar
Whilyam
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:55 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Guild News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests