New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Announcements and discussion regarding the Gehn CWE Shard.

Moderator: Gehn Shard

New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Acorn » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:53 am

Hi, I posted a day ago on the Gehn 26 thread but maybe it wasn't prominent enough - the shard has stopped working for me. I get as far as selecting my avvie and then get the screen with the GoW logo, which continues to change - ie it hasn't frozen - but the game never loads. I have to use task manager to kill it. There seem to be hot spots at the foot of the screen, where the Ki etc would be found if the screen had loaded, but I haven't yet managed to make them achieve anything.

Help! :shock:

Edited - I decided to select an old avvie instead of my new one and I got in! But then I went back to the avvie selection screen, selected my newest avvie again, and I had the same problem. So this new avvie must have got corrupted somehow? It's called AcornGehn26.
Image
Acorn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:56 am

Re: New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Tsar Hoikas » Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:15 pm

Sounds like a toasty avatar, probably best to just delete it and start over.
Image
User avatar
Tsar Hoikas
Councilor of Technical Direction
 
Posts: 1822
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:45 pm
Location: South Georgia

Re: New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Acorn » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:00 am

I think there is a bigger problem, I'm afraid. I deleted the avvie and started up a new one. After a few minutes exploration, to pick up the Ki, start on Ahnonay etc, the new avvie was in the Hood and used the nexus link - and got stuck in the same way, with the logo changing but not delivering the avvie to its destination.

I will DM the logs to you and Deledrius.
Image
Acorn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:56 am

Re: New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Astro » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:57 am

I have a similar problem. I just created my account for Gehn Shard, basically to test the mouse bug fix (which works perfectly for me, yay!). But then I finished the desert and got down in the cave and touched the book I heard the bacho scream, and then it was stuck on the GoW logo. That happens every time I start up with that avi. I created a player 2 and finished the desert again, and this time it "survived", and I can continue playing with avi 2. But the first one still keeps hanging on the logo. It's not a big problem for me as I got the new avi, but it may look like a more general issue?
Astro
Astro
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:18 pm

Re: New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Acorn » Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:31 am

Thanks for the report!

Yes, I'm afraid my new avvie on my second account has also got stuck after a few sessions of game play. I was playing the Gehn 5th anniversary marker quest at the time all three avvies got stuck, and wondered if that was to blame, but I'm guessing you weren't doing this quest, Astro?

Tsar Hoikas has undertaken to look into this problem for us.
Image
Acorn
 
Posts: 671
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:56 am

Re: New avvie corrupted? Can't get into game

Postby Astro » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:16 am

but I'm guessing you weren't doing this quest, Astro?

No, I had only completed the desert, and waiting for getting back to Relto.
Astro
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:18 pm


Return to Gehn Shard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest